Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Latest News

Largest Ever Primary Team Announced

Wednesday, 29 October 2014 | IMGSTG Admin


Athletics Tasmania has announced the largest ever team to represent the State at the Australian Primary Track and Field Championships to be held at Penguin late next month.

 The team of 72 girls and boys was chosen after successful State All Schools Championships and Selection Trials at the same venue last weekend.

 Athletes will compete in a range of individual, multi and relay events during the four day Nationals which will also include a Sunday activities afternoon designed to introduce the anticipated 600 Australia-wide participants to broader aspects of the sport.

 AT President Mike Gunson said that the sport was delighted with the mix of athletes in the team.

 "We have athletes from all around the State, from both government and independent schools - some of whom are already involved in the sport through our own programs and Little Athletics and others who are not," Mr Gunson said.

 "It's a fantastic opportunity for 72 young athletes aged 10, 11 and 12 to experience track and field at another level and hopefully become even more enthused about athletics."

 Mr Gunson said that whilst the selectors had not set out to achieve such a balance it was pleasing to see almost equal numbers of each gender in the team, with the girls just outnumbering the boys - 37 to 35.

"It is also good to see an even spread of representation around the State - which is a good sign for future development. There are 27 in the team from each of the northern and southern regions and 18 from the north west."

The Team comprises:

10 YEARS BOYS (12)
Orin Ball (Ulverstone Primary)- 100m, 200m
Max Brideson (Dominic College)- 100m, 200m, Long Jump
Joshua Harris (Youngtown Primary)- Multi Event
Tom McCallum (Corpus Christi)- 100m, 800m, Long Jump, High Jump
James McEwan (Calvin Christian)- Shot Put, Discus
Maximus Murray (Bellerive Primary)- 800m
Thomas Murrell (Howrah Primary)- Shot Put, Discus, Multi Event
Heath Ollington (Leighland Christian School)- 800m, High Jump
Hayden Pitt (East Tamar Primary)- Discus
Lachlan Semmler (Princes Street)- High Jump
Parker Shea (Sacred Heart Launceston)- Long Jump
Nicholas Yam (St Helens District)- 100m, 200m

Maddison Brooks (Corpus Christi)- 800m
Abbie Butler (Longford Primary) – 200m, 800m
Liana Freestone (Youngtown Primary)- Multi Event
Nina Galligan (Mt Nelson Primary)- 100m, 200m, High Jump, Long Jump
Sophie Grave (Hillcrest Primary)- High Jump
Courtney Hingston (Forth Primary)- Shot Put
Tahlia Honey (Brighton Primary)- 100m, Discus, Multi Event
Amy Hyland (Leighland Christian School)- 100m
Charli Kay (St Peter Channel)- 800m, Long Jump, Discus
Breanna Lemon (Collegiate)- 100m, 200m, High Jump, Long Jump
Natalia Leszczynski (Brighton Primary)- Shot Put, Discus
Kate McShane (Hagley Farm)- Shot Put

11 YEARS BOYS (12)
Lincoln Arnold ( Cambridge Primary)- 100m, 200m, Shot Put, High Jump, Long Jump
Jack Beard (Sacred Heart Ulverstone)- Shot Put
Lukas Burns (Penguin District)- 800m
John Cummins (Hagley Farm)- Multi Event
Noah Eastley (Deloraine Primary)- Long Jump, Discus
Ryan Gale (Illawarra Primary)- 100m, 200m
Baynen Lowe (Miandetta Primary)- 800m
George McLeod (Immaculate Heart)- 100m, 200m, Long Jump
Liam Scolyer ( Forth Primary)- 100m, Discus
Sam Talbot (Punchbowl Primary)- 800m
Zachary Tyson (St Thomas Mores)- High Jump, Shot Put, Discus
James Webb (Hutchins)- High Jump

Makala Bingley (Longford Primary)- Long Jump, Shot Put, Discus
Maddison Brazendale (Riverside Primary)- 100m, Long Jump, Multi Event
Chloe Deans (Riverside Primary)- 800m
Chloe Essex (Fahan)- 100m
Elsa Fletcher (Mount Stuart)- High Jump, Multi Event
Wena Jones (Fahan)- High Jump, Long Jump
Tahia Leembruggen (Port Sorell)- 100m, 200m
Stefanie McCarthy (Friends)- Shot Put, Discus
Bonnie Pitt (East Tamar Primary)- 200m, Shot Put, Discus
Emma Potter (Mowbray Heights)- 100m
Ashleigh Reid (Scotch Oakburn)- 200m, High Jump
Zoe Smith (Friends)- 800m

12 YEARS BOYS (11)
Sam Clifford (Riverside)- 800m
Alex Davies (Trevallyn Primary)- Shot Put
Callum Emms (Hutchins)- 100m, Long Jump, Multi Event
Tom McShane (Hagley Farm)- High Jump, Shot Put, Discus
Jacob Mitchelson (Hagley Farm)- 100m, 200m
Angus Murrell (Howrah Primary)- 800m, Discus
Zachary Ollington (Leighland Christian)- 200m
Timothy Ostapowicz (Lenah Valley)- 100m, 200m
Jack Schouten (Trevallyn Primary)- Long Jump, Shot Put, Multi Event
Taine Sookee (Hutchins)- 100m, High Jump, Long Jump
Jack Willmott (Austins Ferry)- 800m


Charleigh Bell (Spreyton Primary)- 800m
Ashtyn Dennison (Port Sorell)- 100m, 200m
Ella Gair (Leighland Christian)- 200m
Rachel Hosie (Bellerive Primary)- Shot Put, Discus
Liana Kenna (Corpus Christi)- 100m
Charlee Milbourne (Larminier School)- High Jump, Long Jump, Shot Put
Jenifer Phillips (Somerset Primary)- 800m
April Potter (Yolla District)- 200m, Shot Put
Lailani Pybus (Scotch Oakburn)- 100m, Long Jump, Multi Event
Lauren Spencer (Exeter Primary)- 100m, Long Jump, Discus, Multi Event
Catelyn Turner (Exeter Primary)- Discus
Imogen Wigg (St Peter Chanel)- High Jump
Alyson Wood (Riverside Primary)- 800m

The Tasmanian Team for the secondary event, the Australian All Schools Track and Field Championships to be held in Adelaide in December will be announced later this week.


What: Australian Primary Track and Field Champiionships
When: Friday 28 November to Monday 1 December 2014
Where: Dial Regional Athletic Centre, Penguin

For comment and more information, please contact Brian Roe, Executive Officer at Athletics Tasmania:

m: +61 (0) 438 604 571
OR Simon Bennett at the Athletics Tasmania Office

m: +61 (0) 488 040 508
o: +61 (3) 6234 9551
News Search

Athletics Tasmania
G.P.O. Box 2051 Hobart Tasmania 7001

P +61 03 6234 9551
F +61 03 6231 1056