Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Latest News

54 of Tasmania’s best headed for Sydney in March

Wednesday, 25 February 2015 | IMGSTG Admin


Athletics Tasmania has announced a team of 54 athletes to represent the State at the 2015 Australian Age Track and Field Championships at Sydney's Olympic Park in March.

The selection of the team follows a highly successful Tasmanian domestic season for its youth and junior athletes culminating in the State Age Championships at the Domain Athletic Centre in Hobart last weekend.

Athletics Tasmania President Mike Gunson said that these were a particularly important championship for the State's talent pathway athletes.

"We have had a core group of high level performers in these age categories for several years but many have transitioned to senior ranks so now we are looking to the next group to take advantage of the opportunities presented by one of the great junior athletics competitions in the world," Gunson said.

"Few countries are able to deliver a youth and junior championships in such numbers and of such quality every year but we are fortunate that this is exactly what our athletes have on their doorstep.

"It is a chance to step up, challenge themselves and aim for a quality personal best performance and we have some exciting young talent who we believe can do just that."

The Championships are held over five days and feature a full complement of track and field events, including relays across age groups from under 14 to under 20.

The team comprises:

Under 14
Rachel Hosie (Eastern Suburbs) - Shot, Discus, Hammer
Liana Kenna (ES) - 100m, 200m

Under 15
Tahlia Bortignon (Sandy Bay) - 100m, 200m
Raphaela Corney (ES) - 3000m, 2000m Steeple, Pole Vault
Julia Direen (ES) - Shot, Hammer, U17 Hammer
Grace Jacobson (OVA Southern Saints) - Long Jump

Under 16
Kaela Beechey (OVA) - Javelin, U18 Javelin
Jane Hickie (ES) - 90m Hurdles, High Jump
Alice Randall (OVA) - 3000m Race Walk
Rebecca Revill (OVA) - 800m, 2000m Steeple
Ruby Smee (SB) - 800m, 1500m, 3000m
Ebony Webb (ES) - 1500m, 3000m, 2000m Steeple

Under 17
Mackensie Belbin (ES) - 100m
Kysha Hill (North Launceston) - 100m, 200m
Brooke Jones (North West) - 100m, 200m, 400m
Laura McShane (NL) - 400m, 800m

Under 18
Alice Cox (ES) - Shot, Discus, Hammer, U20 Discus
Laura Harrison (OVA) - 400m
Tahlia Hunt (OVA) - 5000m Race Walk
Emma Keleher (Northern Suburbs) - Hammer, U20 Hammer
Jaimie Summers (Newstead Athletics) - Hammer, Javelin

Under 20
Lilly Castle (OVA) - 100m, 200m
Emma Jago (NW) - Para 100m, Para 1500m
Julia Minnucci (ES) - 800m, 1500m
Maddy Scott (OVA) - 200m, 400m
Courtney Stanley (Western Suburbs) - 800m, 400m Hurdles

Under 15
Oliver Burrows-Cheng (SB) - 100m Hurdles, 200m Hurdles
Sorin Vanzino (SB) - 800m, 1500m

Under 16
Lochlan Bromfield (OVA) - 2000m Steeple
Harvey Chilcott (ES) - 1500m, 2000m Steeple
Nathan Coleman (OVA) - 200m
Jack Colgrave (NW) - 100m, 200m, 400m, 200m Hurdles
Sam Field (ES) - 1500m, 2000m Steeple
James Gravina (ES) - Hammer
Jonathan Mommers (ES) - Hammer

Under 17

Ryan Cooper (OVA) - Long Jump, Triple Jump
Getasew Ferguson (NL) - 3000m, 2000m Steeple
Patrick Kearney (SB) - 400m Hurdles
Henri Norton (OVA) - 100m, 200m, 400m
Callum Stevens (OVA) - 400m, 800m
Gus Tomlinson-Smith (OVA) - 400m

Under 18
Jack Hale (NS) - 100m, 200m, Long Jump, U20 100m
Matt Hosie (ES) - 110m Hurdles, Pole Vault, Shot, Discus
Jimmy Lyall (NW) - 3000m, 2000m Steeple
Nathaniel Mommers (ES) - Shot, Discus, Hammer
Mitchell Pulford (NW) - Shot, Hammer, U20 Hammer
Russel Taib (SB) - 100m, 200m, 400m
James Taranto (SB) - 800m

Under 20
Kale Adams (NW) - 1500m, 3000m Steeple
Jacob Despard (OVA) - 100m, 200m
Mitchell Gowen (NL) - 400m
Hugh Nicklason (ES) - 800m, 1500m
Samuel Pulford (NW) - High Jump, Long Jump
Jesse Usoalii (SB) - 4x100m relay

Under 16 4x100m - Beechey, Bortignon, Hickie, Jacobson, Revill, Smee
Under 16 4x200m - Bortignon, Hickie, Jacobson, Kenna, Revill, Smee
Under 18 4x100m - Belbin, Bortignon, Hickie, Hill, Jones, McShane
Under 18 4x400m - Harrison, Hill, Jones, McShane, Revill,
Under 20 4x100m - Castle, Hill, Jones, McShane, Scott, Stanley
Under 20 4x400m - Castle, Hill, Minnucci, Scott, Stanley

Under 16 4x100m - Burrows-Cheng, Chilcott, Coleman, Colgrave, Vanzino
Under 16 4x200m - Burrows-Cheng, Chilcott, Coleman, Colgrave, Vanzino
Under 18 4x100m - Coleman, Colgrave, Cooper, Hosie, Norton
Under 18 4x400m - Hosie, Kearney, Norton, Stevens, Tomlinson-Smith
Under 20 4x100m - Despard, Hale, Pulford, Taib, Usoalii
Under 20 4x400m - Despard, Gowen, Nicklason, Taib, Taranto

General Manager: Rosemary Coleman
Head Coach: Susan Andrews
Managers: Julie Beaumont, Brandon Clark, Daniel Coleman, Kay Knee, Nathan Morey
News Search

Athletics Tasmania
G.P.O. Box 2051 Hobart Tasmania 7001

P +61 03 6234 9551
F +61 03 6231 1056