Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Latest News

Athlete of the Year - Nominations

Friday, 15 May 2015 | IMGSTG Admin


Athletics Tasmania today announced the nominations for its 2014-15 Athlete of the Year Awards.

The nominated athletes will now be considered by the independent Selection Panel comprising Athletics Australia National Statistician Paul Jenes (chair) and members of the sports media representing each of Tasmania's three regions - Rob Shaw, Cameron Whiteley and Simeon Thomas Wilson. Selections are made based on performances and achievements during the period from 1 April 2014 to 31 March 2015.

The winners will be announced at the Athletics Tasmania Awards Function in Hobart on Saturday 30 May.

The nominees for 2014/15 are:

Under 14 Male:
Max Brideson (Sandy Bay); Oliver Burrows-Cheng (SB); Timothy Ostapowicz (OVA Southern Saints); Sorin Vanzino (SB)

Under 16 Male: Jack Colgrave (North West); Ryan Cooper (OVA); Getasew Ferguson (North Launceston); Owen Law (Eastern Suburbs); Henri Norton (OVA)

Under 18 Male: Jack Hale (Northern Suburbs); Matthew Hosie (ES); Jimmy Lyall (NW); Nathaniel Mommers (ES); Ryan Powell (NW); Russel Taib (SB)

Under 20 Male: Kale Adams (NW); Jacob Despard (OVA); Deon Kenzie (NW); Hugh Nicklason (ES); Jesse Usoalii (SB)

Open Male: James Hansen (NL); Josh Harris (NL); Hamish Peacock (ES); Huw Peacock (ES); David Thomas (Newstead Athletics); Tristan Thomas (OVA)

Under 14 Female: Raphaela Corney (ES); Julia Direen (ES); Rachel Hosie (ES)

Under 16 Female: Kaela Beechey (OVA); Kysha Hill (NL); Emma Jago (NW); Brooke Jones (NW); Ruby Smee (SB); Ebony Webb (ES)

Under 18 Female: Alice Cox (ES); Tahlia Hunt (OVA); Emma Keleher (NS); Courtney Stanley (Western Suburbs); Madeline Scott (OVA)

Under 20 Female: Mikayla Genge (OVA); Samantha Lind (ES); Julia Minnucci (ES); Abbie Rothery (SB)

Open Female: Kiara Chambers (ES); Mel Daniels (NS); Rebecca Direen (ES); Carmen Oakley (NW); Stephanie Stigwood (OVA)

Jumps/Combined Events – Male: Brandon Clark (NS); Geoff Gibbons (SB);
Ryan Haag (OVA); Jack Hale (NS); Joel Mason (ES); Ross Randall (OVA)

Throws – Male: Chris Edwards (ES); Hamish Peacock (ES); Huw Peacock (ES)

Sprints/Hurdles – Male: Jacob Despard (OVA)l; Jack Hale (NS); Russel Taib (SB); Tristan Thomas (OVA)

Distance/Walks – Male: Kale Adams (NW); James Hansen (NL); Josh Harris (NL)
Deon Kenzie (NW); David Thomas (NEW)

Jumps/Combined Events – Female:
Abbie Rothery (SB); Caitlin Stalker (ES); Courtney Stanley (WS)

Throws – Female: Alice Cox (ES); Rebecca Direen (ES); Mikayla Genge (OVA)

Sprints/Hurdles – Female: Kiara Chambers (ES); Morgan Gaffney (NW); Samantha Lind (ES)

Distance/Walks – Female: Mel Daniels (NS); Stephanie Stigwood (OVA)
Ruth Wilson (NS)
News Search

Athletics Tasmania
G.P.O. Box 2051 Hobart Tasmania 7001

P +61 03 6234 9551
F +61 03 6231 1056